General Information

Tax Districts

The Property Tax Division maps all governmental entities and special districts that have the ability to levy a mill, as well as annually publishing tax district maps and data that is used by both public and private agencies.  County Assessor offices utilize this information to place properties in the correct tax districts using the statewide Computer Assisted Mass Appraisal system. Department assessed property owners use the information to file annual reports for property tax purposes. These property owners include, but not limited to, mines and mining claims, pipeline companies, electric utility companies, railroad companies, telephone/telegraph companies and other public utilities.

Several Wyoming Statutes provide instructions on the administration of tax districts.  For a more comprehensive overview of these requirements, we recommend the following statutes and rules: